Twenta: Twenty Twenties

It’s time! Thank you for the desire to read my poems. You will be glad you came. They are so good you may even come some more.

Twenta: Twenty Twenties is a collection of poems, and a single poem. Each poem has 20 syllables in its body, and these 20 syllables paint 4000 pictures. A mix of English and Yoruba poems, there is something for the general reader and the local reader, something for the foreigner interested and for the one not interested in my local tongue.

These poems, you will like some, you will love some, some will leave you baffled, and some may wow you: the idea is to score, and t(w)o score again. They contain choice words that keeps the themes of ’20’ and the ‘new year’ constantly in your face.

Twenta, a word for royalty from the Kuteb tribe in Taraba State, Nigeria. And I may have spoken with a beautiful lady bearing that name on the first day of the year. What an inspiration!

Meters and rhymes, meteors yet sublime. These you will find. One of its kind, my kind.

Date and time carefully chosen, a palindrome. February 2, 2020 reads 02:02:2020, and if look at the time of release in 24:00 hours, 8:20 PM reads 20:20. These, and many more, are plays on days and place to daze the writer.Don’t let me pun-ish you with more spoilers, let me let you let me in. Enjoy, and if you care, share.

You are ready to read? Here, here: 20 20s Poems

You can reach me on kolabomiadeko@gmail.com if you would like further commentaries on the poems, or for any other queries.

 


Leave a comment